
Android Registered App Stores enrollment opened on October 27, 2026, for app stores outside the United States. Approved third party stores get a simpler way to install and update apps, with the new flow set to reach users on December 1, 2026.
For users, the change is about friction. Installing an app from a store other than Google Play has long meant extra permission steps and extra confirmation screens. Under Android Registered App Stores, a registered store will be able to offer one tap installs without secondary confirmation screens, automatic background updates, and download progress indicators, according to Android Authority.
Android Registered App Stores enrollment is optional, and that point matters as much as the new features. Stores that do not enroll will keep working as they do today. Users in the United States get no change from this announcement, and Google has given no date for the United States.
In Brief
- Enrollment opened on October 27, 2026, outside the United States.
- The streamlined flow launches on December 1, 2026, on Android 17 QPR2 and later.
- Registered stores can offer one tap installs, automatic updates, and progress indicators.
- Registration is optional, with an annual fee. The amount was not stated.
- Stores that do not enroll keep the current install flow.
- No date has been given for the United States, pending court approval.
The Bigger Picture
Google announced the program in March 2026. The brief for this article states that it stems from a proposed settlement between Google and Epic Games, and that the United States position is still pending court approval. That history explains the split rollout: enrollment is open outside the United States now, while the United States waits.
Registration keeps a check in place while removing much of the friction. It is not an endorsement of every app inside a store.
Android Registered App Stores: What Changes on December 1
The streamlined flow for Android Registered App Stores launches on December 1, 2026, on devices running Android 17 QPR2 and later. The date and the version requirement are the two hard limits in the announcement. Check both before expecting the new flow on a phone.
Once live, a registered store can install an app in one tap, without the secondary confirmation screens that third party installs normally trigger. Updates can run automatically in the background, as in Google Play. Download progress indicators will show what is happening during a download.
Enrolled stores also get early access to documentation, onboarding help, and the Android Developer ID API, according to the source report. Those are tools for operators, not features users will see directly.
Android Registered App Stores: What Stores Must Do to Enroll
Android Registered App Stores enrollment is open now, outside the United States. A store that wants the streamlined flow must register, and registration carries an annual fee. The source report does not state the amount. Store operators should confirm the fee from Google’s own enrollment material before budgeting for it.
Extra review fees may apply if a store catalog exceeds an unspecified malware threshold. Neither the threshold nor the review amount was stated in the source report. Two questions stay open: how high the threshold sits, and what extra review would cost if it is crossed.
Gadgets360 reported the same broad shape, and described steps such as an interest form, pre-qualification checks, and a technical evaluation. Those details were not in the assigned source brief, so they are noted only as reported by Gadgets360.
Android Registered App Stores: What Stays the Same for Users
For most users, the first thing to know is what Android Registered App Stores do not change. A store that does not enroll will keep working as it does today, with the current install flow and its current confirmation steps.
Under Android Registered App Stores, Google Play is also unchanged. The program adds a smoother path for registered third party stores. It does not replace Google Play, and it does not change how Play installs or updates apps.
The United States is the clearest case of no change. Enrollment is open outside the United States only, with no United States date given. The source brief states that the position is pending court approval. Device version is the other limit: the flow is described for Android 17 QPR2 and later only, and the full country list was not stated in the source brief.
Confirmed, Reported, and Still Unclear
Confirmed
- Enrollment opened on October 27, 2026, outside the United States.
- The streamlined flow launches on December 1, 2026, on Android 17 QPR2 and later.
- Registration is optional, and non-enrolled stores are unchanged.
- Google announced the program in March 2026.
Reported
- Android Authority reported the opening, with Ryan McNeal as author, on October 27, 2026.
- Gadgets360 reported an annual fee and described interest, pre-qualification, and technical evaluation steps.
- The Hacker News reported that approved stores get install permission automatically once approved.
Still unclear
- The amount of the annual fee, and the amount of any extra review fees.
- The malware threshold that triggers extra review fees.
- The full list of eligible countries outside the United States.
- Any date for the United States, pending court approval.
- The exact enrollment procedure, beyond the shape reported by Gadgets360.
What Happens Next
The next hard date is December 1, 2026, when the streamlined flow for Android Registered App Stores is set to launch on Android 17 QPR2 and later. Before then, watch store announcements: which stores say they have enrolled, and which stay silent. A store that has not said so should not be assumed enrolled.
Google also has gaps to fill: the fee amount, the malware threshold, the country list, and the enrollment procedure. Until they appear in Google’s own material, treat any figure circulating online as unconfirmed. In the United States, the next step is court approval, with no date given.
Quick Answers
Will Android Registered App Stores come to the US?
No date has been given for the United States, where the position is pending court approval. Enrollment opened outside the United States only.
Do I have to use a registered store?
No. Android Registered App Stores registration is optional for stores, and stores that do not enroll keep working as they do today. You can keep using Google Play, a registered store, or a non-enrolled store.
How much does registration cost a store?
Android Registered App Stores registration carries an annual fee, but the amount was not stated in the source report. Extra review fees may also apply in some cases, with the threshold unspecified. Confirm both figures with Google before relying on them.
Will my phone get one tap installs on December 1?
Only if three conditions line up: your phone runs Android 17 QPR2 or later, your store has registered, and your country is eligible. If any condition is missing, the new flow as described does not apply.
Does registration mean every app in the store is safe?
No claim of that kind was made in the source report. Android Registered App Stores registration covers the store under the program as described. It is not, on the evidence in this article, a guarantee about every individual app.
The Takeaway
Android Registered App Stores enrollment is open, the flow launches on December 1, and the idea is sound: less friction for stores that register, no forced change for stores that do not. The limits are just as clear. The fee amount is unstated, the threshold is unspecified, the country list is not in the source brief, and the United States has no date.
Outside the United States, check your version and your store before December 1. In the United States, wait. Store operators should confirm the fee and the threshold in Google’s own material before committing.
Sources / Attribution
- Android Authority, Ryan McNeal, Android opens enrollment for program that brings one-tap sideloading for app stores, October 27, 2026. https://www.androidauthority.com/android-opens-enrollment-program-for-app-stores-3728653/
- Gadgets360, Third-Party Android App Stores Can Now Enrol in Google’s Registered App Stores Programme, October 28, 2026. https://www.gadgets360.com/apps/news/google-registration-third-party-app-stores-one-tap-install-android-programme-12249074/amp
- The Hacker News, Swati Khandelwal, Google to Allow One-Tap Android App Installs From Approved Third-Party Stores Outside U.S., October 28, 2026. http://thehackernews.com/2026/10/google-to-allow-one-tap-android-app.html



