Apple released the final version on Monday, October 26, 2026, after weeks of testing. The headline change is a Siri that remembers, alongside smaller changes across Messages, Photos, Music, TV, FaceTime, Podcasts and Games, and a new input option for iPhone Duo.
iOS 27.2 is now available for iPhone 11 or newer and iPhone SE 2 or newer. Apple released it on Monday, October 26, 2026, after weeks of testing, according to PCMag. It matters most for newer iPhones, because the Siri AI upgrades are limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later.
For everyone else, iOS 27.2 still brings practical changes across the built-in apps, plus bug fixes in Health, Shortcuts, app tracking and other areas. The iPhone Duo, Apple’s first foldable, also gains Apple Pencil support, a feature 9to5Mac reported Apple had planned by the end of the year.
Install the update if your iPhone supports it, check the Siri limits first, and note that Duo owners get only one Pencil model.
The Short Version
- Apple released iOS 27.2 on October 26, 2026, after weeks of testing.
- Siri AI can recall past conversations and draw on more personal context, on iPhone 15 Pro and later only.
- Five new Siri AI languages arrive: French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish. Siri AI stays in beta and stays unavailable in the EU.
- Messages, Photos, Apple Music, Apple TV, FaceTime, Podcasts and Games all gain smaller changes.
- iPhone Duo gains Apple Pencil (USB-C) support, as reported by 9to5Mac.
- Install through Settings, General, Software Update.
iOS 27.2 Siri AI: Memory, Context, and Five New Languages
The Siri changes in iOS 27.2 are the reason this update leads the news. Siri AI can now remember past conversations, so a user can ask about something Siri previously suggested and get an answer that builds on that history. PCMag gives the example of recalling a suggestion, so the conversation carries forward instead of restarting each time.
In iOS 27.2, Siri can also draw on a wider set of personal context: photo attachments in Messages, Calendar event attendees, and voicemails. It also uses Safari history and the Reading List, so answers can reflect what the user has already read or saved.
Two controls arrive with that wider access. Granular text selection copies or pastes only part of a Siri response. An Excluded Apps list decides, in one place, which apps Siri, Search and suggestions can access.
Language support is the other headline change in iOS 27.2. Siri AI now works in French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, in addition to English.
The feature remains in beta, and it requires iOS 27 or later on a compatible device. It remains unavailable in the EU because of local regulations, and Apple said it was working constructively with the EU on a path forward.
The limit decides who sees any of this. An iPhone 11, 12, 13 or 14, or an iPhone SE, can install the update, but the Siri AI memory and context features need an iPhone 15 Pro or later. Owners of older models should install for the fixes and app updates, not for a new Siri.
iOS 27.2 Beyond Siri: Messages, Photos, Music, and TV
Messages gains Suggestions in iOS 27.2, a feature that reads the context of a conversation and proposes an action. A dinner invitation in a chat can prompt adding the event to Calendar, which removes a copy, switch app, paste sequence that used to break the flow. The suggestion stays tied to the conversation, so it should feel like a shortcut.
In iOS 27.2, Photos changes Shared Albums in two small ways. Users can edit captions and comments, which should reduce duplicates added when a caption needs a fix. A reminder before an album expires gives participants time to save favorite photos.
Image Playground images now carry an invisible SynthID watermark. SynthID is Google’s system, and its detector, which rolled out earlier in the month, now extends to Apple’s AI tools. The watermark helps identify images generated or modified with generative tools.
The remaining iOS 27.2 app changes are visible at a glance. Apple Music gets a new black-and-white app logo.
Apple TV gains Simple Profiles, with one dedicated profile per household member. FaceTime adds support for third-party sign-language interpreters on calls.
Podcasts splits its homepage into New Episodes and Continue Playing, so new and unfinished episodes stop competing in one list. The Games app updates its Friends tab with suggestions and recently played games. Neither change needs a new phone.
iOS 27.2 and iPhone Duo: Apple Pencil Support
The Duo change in iOS 27.2 is the most device-specific item in the release. Apple Pencil support now arrives on the foldable, as reported by 9to5Mac, and Apple had planned the addition by the end of the year, according to PCMag. A stylus gives the large inner display a handwriting option that a finger cannot match.
Only one Pencil model works. Apple Pencil (USB-C) is the only stylus supported by the Duo display. PCMag also notes the Duo display has faced criticism over durability, which makes a light touch the sensible approach.
The Pencil change in iOS 27.2 lands while the Duo itself is under scrutiny. Early owner reports described inner display damage, and PetaTech24 covered those reports before any Apple statement could be identified.
The Pencil support does not answer the durability questions. It is an input option for a first-generation foldable display.
For Duo owners, the practical steps are narrow. Confirm the Pencil model before buying, and test handwriting and markup in the apps used most. The rest of the update reaches the Duo like any other supported iPhone.
The Bigger Picture
This release shows how Apple now stages iPhone software. The Duo shipped with its own build, iOS 27.1, while every other iPhone waited, as PetaTech24 reported in its preview coverage. The final version reunites the lineup on one number.
The Siri limits in iOS 27.2 show the other split. Apple can ship one update to phones going back to iPhone 11, while reserving its most personal assistant features for the newest hardware.
That split is honest only when it is stated clearly. The device limits in this article sit in the tables as well as the text for that reason.
The EU absence is the clearest loose end. Siri AI remains unavailable in the EU because of local regulations, and Apple said it was working constructively with the EU on a path forward.
No date was given, so none is given here. Readers in the EU get the app changes and fixes, but not the Siri AI features.
The beta label matters too. Siri AI remains in beta, so the memory features should be judged on daily use rather than launch-day claims. PetaTech24 did not test the release.
iOS 27.2 Install Checklist: Who Gets What
Open Settings, tap General, then tap Software Update, and follow the on-screen steps. iOS 27.2 covers iPhone 11 or newer and iPhone SE 2 or newer. The Siri AI features are limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later.
Before installing, check the iPhone model, because the Siri features depend on it. Then review the Excluded Apps list after updating, and Duo owners should confirm the Pencil model, since only Apple Pencil (USB-C) is supported.
Confirmed vs Reported vs Unknown
Confirmed: Apple released the final version on October 26, 2026, after weeks of testing. PCMag covered the feature list, and MacRumors corroborated the release timing.
Reported: the Apple Pencil support is reported by 9to5Mac, as covered by PCMag. The durability criticism is noted by PCMag, and neither item is presented as an Apple statement.
Unknown: no date was given for any EU path forward for Siri AI. Whether Siri AI leaves beta, or Pencil support extends to other models, was not stated, so both remain unknown.
FAQ
When did iOS 27.2 come out?
Apple released iOS 27.2 on Monday, October 26, 2026, after weeks of testing.
Which iPhones get the Siri AI parts of iOS 27.2?
iPhone 15 Pro and later only. Older iPhones get the update and app changes, but not the Siri AI memory features.
Is Siri AI available in the EU?
No. It remains unavailable in the EU because of local regulations. Apple said it was working constructively with the EU on a path forward, with no date given.
Which Apple Pencil works with iPhone Duo?
Only Apple Pencil (USB-C), as reported by 9to5Mac via PCMag. Other models are not stated as supported, so owners should confirm the model before buying.
How is this release different from the earlier iOS 27.2 preview coverage?
The earlier coverage reported expected features before Apple released anything. This is the final version, available to install, with the feature list as covered by PCMag.
The Takeaway
Install the update for the app improvements and fixes, and judge Siri AI on what the hardware allows. iOS 27.2 is a solid step, but the memory, context and language features belong to iPhone 15 Pro and later, in beta, and outside the EU for now.
Duo owners gain a useful Pencil option, with one supported model and durability questions still open. Update, check the limits, and use the features the phone in hand actually supports.
Sources / Attribution
- PCMag, Jibin Joseph, iOS 27.2 Rolls Out With Siri AI Upgrades, Apple Pencil Support for Duo and More, updated October 27, 2026. All rollout claims in this article come from this report unless stated otherwise.
- MacRumors, Apple Releases iOS 27.2 With New Siri AI Languages, October 26, 2026. Release timing corroboration.
- 9to5Mac, Apple Pencil support for iPhone Duo, as reported via PCMag. The Pencil claim is attributed to 9to5Mac.
- PetaTech24, iOS 27.2 Update: New Features for Messages, Apple TV, FaceTime and More, October 23, 2026. Prior preview coverage, used only to distinguish the preview from the final release.



