
The Dimensity 9600M is MediaTek’s most confusingly named chip of 2026. It shares a family name with the Dimensity 9600 Pro, but the two chips use different processes, CPU cores, memory, and storage.
MediaTek announced the Dimensity 9600M on September 17, 2026, as a 3nm high-end smartphone chip. It powers the vivo X500 and the OPPO Find X10, two camera-led flagships from September 2026.
The Dimensity 9600M keeps much of the Dimensity 9500 hardware, with newer 9600 family software and AI features added. That is not a flaw, but it becomes a problem when a shopper pays a 9600 Pro price for 9500-era silicon.
Key Takeaways
- The Dimensity 9600M is a 3nm, eight-core chip with a Mali-G1 Ultra MP12 GPU. It is not a cut-down 2nm Dimensity 9600 Pro.
- NanoReview’s crowd aggregate (CR) lists 4,011,932 on AnTuTu 11 and 3,302 single-core and 10,240 multi-core on Geekbench 6. Treat those figures as orientation, not lab results.
- Two phones use the Dimensity 9600M in NanoReview’s listing: the vivo X500 and the OPPO Find X10. Their phone-level aggregates sit slightly below the chip-level figure.
- No published same-chassis lab test compares this chip with a rival in the same phone body. Scores from different phones are orientation only.
- The Dimensity 9600M differs from the Dimensity 9600 Pro in process, cores, GPU, memory, and storage. Only the 9600 name matches closely.
Why This Matters
Chip names do real work in phone shops. A buyer comparing two 2026 phones will see 9600M and 9600 Pro side by side and assume they are close relatives. They are not, and the buyer who spots the difference can ask the right question, which is price.
The Dimensity 9600M should power phones priced clearly below 9600 Pro phones with similar storage. Flagship chips decide gaming smoothness and photo processing speed, but they do not decide battery life or camera quality alone.
The phone body, cooling, battery size, and software decide those things. No Bangladesh price or official availability is stated in the sources checked, so none is given here. Check the local listing, warranty, and exact model before paying.
Dimensity 9600M: The Full Specification
The CPU uses an all-big-core layout: one Arm C1-Ultra core at 4.21GHz, three C1-Premium cores at 3.50GHz, and four C1-Pro cores at 2.70GHz. There is no small efficiency cluster in the usual sense. That layout suits heavy bursts, and puts more weight on the phone’s cooling and power management.
Graphics come from the Mali-G1 Ultra MP12 GPU in the Dimensity 9600M, listed by NanoReview at 1,716MHz. MediaTek materials list the same GPU as the Mali-G1 Ultra MC12, so treat MP12 and MC12 as two labels for one 12-core unit. The GPU supports hardware ray tracing, and MediaTek lists display support up to 185 frames per second.
Cache is generous in the Dimensity 9600M. The C1-Ultra core carries 2MB of L2 cache, each C1-Premium core carries 1MB, and each C1-Pro core carries 512KB, with 16MB of L3 cache and 10MB of system-level cache on top. The NPU 990 handles on-device AI work, including generative and agentic features, and NanoReview lists it at 100 TOPS (CR).
Memory support is LPDDR5X at up to 10,667 Mbps, with 85.3GB/s of bandwidth in NanoReview’s listing (CR). Storage support is UFS 4.0 and UFS 4.1, and the camera pipeline supports sensors up to 320MP with 8K60 and 4K120 video. NanoReview lists a 9W thermal design power figure (CR), which is a chip-level listing, not a promise about any phone’s heat or battery life.
The Dimensity 9600M modem summary lists 3GPP Release 17 sub-6GHz 5G, with peak download put at 7.4 Gbps in spec summaries. Dual SIM dual active, Wi-Fi 7, and Bluetooth 6.0 are supported, and nothing in the published summary presents mmWave as part of this package.
| Specification | Dimensity 9600M |
|---|---|
| Announced | September 17, 2026 |
| Process | TSMC 3nm |
| CPU | 8 cores: 1x C1-Ultra 4.21GHz, 3x C1-Premium 3.50GHz, 4x C1-Pro 2.70GHz |
| GPU | Mali-G1 Ultra MP12 (MC12), 1,716MHz (CR) |
| NPU | NPU 990, 100 TOPS (CR) |
| Memory | LPDDR5X up to 10,667 Mbps, 85.3GB/s (CR) |
| Storage | UFS 4.0 / UFS 4.1 |
| Camera / video | Up to 320MP, 8K60, 4K120 |
| Modem | Sub-6GHz 5G, 7.4 Gbps peak download |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0 |
Dimensity 9600M vs Dimensity 9600 Pro: Same Name, Different Silicon
The Dimensity 9600M sits well below the Dimensity 9600 Pro on hardware. The Pro uses TSMC’s 2nm process, C2-Ultra and C2-Pro cores, the Mali-G2 Ultra NX MP12 GPU, the NPU 1090, LPDDR6, and UFS 5.0. The 9600M chip uses 3nm silicon, C1-series cores, the Mali-G1 Ultra MP12 GPU, the NPU 990, LPDDR5X, and UFS 4.1.
GizmoChina reported that the Dimensity 9600M is essentially the Dimensity 9500 with a few small changes, sharing its process, CPU layout, GPU, NPU, memory, storage, and camera ceiling. AndroidHeadlines and Beebom reached a similar reading. What is actually new is narrower: the Dimensity Scheduling Engine 3.0, support for newer on-device AI models, and the 185 frames per second display claim.
Dimensity 9600M Benchmarks: How to Read the Scores
Testing note: No published same-chassis lab test exists; treat phone scores as orientation only. Results below come from different retail phones tested by different outlets at different times. They are useful for ballpark comparison, not a controlled duel.
Every figure in this section comes from NanoReview, which pools user-submitted and aggregated results, so tag each one (CR). The Dimensity 9600M rates 99 for CPU, 98 for gaming, 93 for battery, and 98 overall in NanoReview’s composites. Those composites describe the aggregate database, not a single phone in a controlled test.
On AnTuTu 11 (CR), NanoReview lists 4,011,932 for the Dimensity 9600M. The vivo X500 scores 3,930,719, about 2% below the chip aggregate, and the OPPO Find X10 scores 3,852,105, about 4% below it. Small gaps like these are expected across different phones, and NanoReview lists the Dimensity 9500 at 3,760,662, about 7% below the 9600M aggregate, which fits the shared-hardware reading.
On Geekbench 6 (CR), NanoReview lists 3,302 single-core, 10,240 multi-core, and 25,801 for GPU compute. The single-core figure reflects short, bursty work, while the multi-core figure reflects all eight cores together. Neither predicts sustained gaming alone, because cooling design, software tuning, and ambient temperature matter as much as the silicon, and a thicker phone with a better vapour chamber can beat a thinner phone on the same chip.
The Pro gap is the largest honest number here. NanoReview lists the Dimensity 9600 Pro at 4,838,033 on AnTuTu 11 (CR), about 21% above the Dimensity 9600M aggregate, with Geekbench 6 figures of 4,188 single-core and 13,145 multi-core.
| Benchmark (CR) | Score | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| AnTuTu 11 total | 4,011,932 | Chip aggregate |
| AnTuTu 11 total | 3,930,719 | vivo X500 |
| AnTuTu 11 total | 3,852,105 | OPPO Find X10 |
| Geekbench 6 single-core | 3,302 | Chip aggregate |
| Geekbench 6 multi-core | 10,240 | Chip aggregate |
| Geekbench 6 GPU compute | 25,801 | Chip aggregate |
| NanoReview composite | CPU 99, Gaming 98, Battery 93, Total 98 | NanoReview rating |
Battery and Charging: A Phone Property, Not a Chip Win
Battery life belongs to the phone, not the chip. The vivo X500 is listed with a 7,500mAh battery and the OPPO Find X10 with an 8,000mAh battery, and each phone adds its own display, software, and charging system. No controlled endurance test for either phone was found in the sources checked, and charging wattage is not stated in the chip sources used here, so none is claimed.
| Reference phone | Battery / charging claim | Source |
|---|---|---|
| vivo X500 | 7,500mAh battery listed; no endurance result found | NanoReview phone listing |
| OPPO Find X10 | 8,000mAh battery listed; no endurance result found | NanoReview phone listing |
| Charging speed | Not stated in chip sources checked | Unverified |
Bottom line on battery: No identical-condition battery duel was found across the reviewed phones. Treat battery life and charging speed as properties of the specific phone (its mAh size, software, screen and charger), not of the chip. Do not pick a chip winner on battery.
Connectivity in Practice
Sub-6GHz 5G covers the networks most buyers use in Bangladesh, South Asia, and much of Europe. Wi-Fi 7 helps only with a Wi-Fi 7 router, and Bluetooth 6.0 matters mainly for newer accessories. United States buyers should check carrier details phone by phone, since the chip summary does not present mmWave as part of this package.
The Bigger Picture
MediaTek needed a high-end chip below its 2nm flagship, and proven 3nm hardware was ready to reuse with updated software. Reusing hardware is normal, and the Dimensity 9500 was a strong chip. The problem is the label, because the Dimensity 9600M name invites shoppers to assume a generation jump the hardware does not support.
The lesson holds across brands: process node, CPU generation, GPU generation, memory type, and storage type decide a chip’s class, and a family number alone decides nothing. For buyers, the deal is fair only at the right price, and for phone makers, the chip offers flagship-class hardware without paying for 2nm silicon.
Who Should Buy a Dimensity 9600M Phone?
Consider a 9600M phone if you want flagship-level speed at a price clearly below Pro and Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 phones, and if the phone offers the camera, battery, and software support you need. Strong cooling and a good update commitment matter more than the chip name.
Look elsewhere if the phone costs nearly as much as a Pro phone, or if you need mmWave coverage the phone does not confirm. At the same price, prefer the better-cooled and better-supported phone. Screen quality, camera tuning, battery size, and update commitments matter more than a small benchmark gap for most buyers, so do not over-index on specs.
FAQ
Is the Dimensity 9600M a new chip?
It is a new name on a refreshed platform, not a new hardware generation. The Dimensity 9600M matches Dimensity 9500 hardware closely, with newer software, scheduling, and AI features added.
Which phones use the chip?
NanoReview’s listing names the vivo X500 and the OPPO Find X10, both launched in September 2026. Check the exact model and region before buying, because regional variants can differ.
How fast is it in benchmarks?
NanoReview’s crowd aggregate (CR) lists 4,011,932 on AnTuTu 11, with 3,302 single-core and 10,240 multi-core on Geekbench 6. Those are aggregates, not controlled lab results, so treat them as orientation only.
Should I pick it over the Dimensity 9600 Pro?
Pick the 9600M phone only if it is clearly cheaper and the phone offers the camera, battery, cooling, and support you need. At a similar price, the Pro phone is the stronger hardware buy, with a benchmark aggregate about 21% higher on AnTuTu 11.
Final Word
The Dimensity 9600M is strong silicon with a misleading name. It delivers flagship-class CPU and GPU hardware with current AI and gaming software features on a mature 3nm platform.
Judge the phone, not the badge. A 9600M phone at the right price is a sound buy, and the same phone at a Pro price is a name tax that buyers should walk away from.
Sources
- NanoReview, Smartphone Processors Ranking, AnTuTu 11 and Geekbench 6 aggregates and composite scores for the Dimensity 9600M, Dimensity 9600 Pro, and Dimensity 9500 (CR)
- GizmoChina, MediaTek Dimensity 9600M is basically a Dimensity 9500 with a few upgrades, September 15, 2026
- Beebom, MediaTek Dimensity 9600M: Benchmarks and Specs
- PhoneBunch, MediaTek Dimensity 9600 Pro launched alongside Dimensity 9600M SoC, specifications
- MediaTek Dimensity 9600M and Dimensity 9600 Pro platform specifications, as summarised by GizmoChina, Beebom, and PhoneBunch. No MediaTek press release URL was verified in this run, so no primary URL is listed.
Score methodology: Lab-reviewer (LR) scores come from named outlets’ controlled testing. Crowd (CR) scores come from aggregator databases (NanoReview) that pool user-submitted results and are less controlled. Company (MF) numbers are manufacturer claims. We treat LR scores as the strongest evidence, CR as directional, and MF as attributed. No LR benchmark for this chip was found in the sources checked, so every benchmark figure in this article is tagged (CR).


